www.r-kempf.de ( de | en )
Impressum

Nonlinear Optics


During my time I spent as student of physics in Austin, Texas, USA, I had the opportunity to conduct experiments with a laser system in the laboratory of Prof. Downer. In these experiments, I investigated nonlinear interaction of light and matter on crystalline surfaces of semiconductors. I want to sketch the basic ideas of the conducted experiments below in a comprehensive way. A more profound treatment and references can be found in my masters thesis and this article.

Introduction: Higher Harmonics Generation at Crystalline Surfaces

The reflection of light at a shiny surface is mainly a linear process, i.e. the intensity of the reflected light depends linearly on the intensity of the incoming light. During the process of reflection, an electron captures a photon (=particle of light) and emits it after a very short periode in a certain direction.

At high light intensities, the electron may capture next to a first photon a second photon before emitting the first one. Instead of sending both photons away separately, the electron sends only one photon away which contains the sum of the energies of the two incoming photons. The doubled energy of the new photon leads to a double frequency of this photon. Thus such a generated photon is called "second harmonic".

The rate of generation of these second harmonics depends nonlinearly on the incident intensity of light. If one doubles the intensity of the incident beam, firstly the probability for the absorption of a photon by a certain electron doubles. Thus there are roughly twice as many electrons absorbing a photon. Secondely the probability of such a photon absorbing a second photon and consequently generation a second harmonic photon doubles as well. The rate of generation of second harmonics thus depend quadratically, and not linearly, on the incident intensity of light.

Sometimes it even happens that an electron does not only absorb two photons but three, four or more photons before emitting one photon with the sum energy of the absorbed photons. Photons generated in such a manner are called third, fourth or higher harmonics. The rate of generation of such photons raises with the third, fourth and higher powers, resp., of the light intensity of the incident light.

Theoretically, one only has to choose suitably high intensities of the incident light in order to reach high rates of generation of higher harmonics at crystalline surfaces. However, there is a fundamental practical limit: The incident light heats the crystal, which melts at high intensities. In this case the material is no longer crystalline.

This problem can be avoided using the following trick: Instead of a continuous beam of light, one may use a pulsed laser. Then it is possible to generate very short light pulses with extremely high intensities, while the average power of the beam is low and consequently the material does not melt. Due to the extremely high intensities of the incident light the conversion rate for higher harmonics is significantly amplified. At a constant average power of the incident light, the rate of generation of n-th harmonics is roughly proportional to one over the (n-1)-th power of the pulse duration.

In the experiments, I used a pulsed laser that generated 250000 pulses per second with a pulse duration of 200 fs, i.e. 0.0000000000002 seconds. In such a "beam" of light, the pulses are separated by 1.2 km and have have a length of just 0.06 mm. The pulse duration is shorted by a factor of 200 fs * 250000 Hz=0.00000005 in comparison to a continuous beam. Thus the rate of generation of, e.g., fourth harmonics is amplified by a gigantic factor of 1/(0.00000005)^3=8*10^21. Due to this effect it is possible to obtain a detectable signal of fourth harmonics from crystalline surfaces.

Application: Analysis of Surfaces employing Higher Harmonics

Interestingly, the generation rate of higher harmonics does not only depend on the intensity of the incident light beam but also on the distribution of the electrons on the surface and in the bulk of the crystal. This fact can be understood, if one knows some more details about photons.

Each photon oscillates in a certain direction. The direction of oscillation of the generated photon corresponds to the direction of the oscillation of the electron involved, which in turn is determined by the directions of oscillation of the four incident Photons and the structure of the crystal embedding the electron.

Mathematically this connection can be described by a tensor of rank five. The tensor is similar to a five-dimensional matrix and connects the four directions of polarization of the incident photons to the direction of oscillation of the electron involved. This tensor contains 243(=3^5) entries. A lot of these entries are zero or are interdependent. One reason for this is that the incident photons cannot be distinguished and thus it does not make any sense that the tensor treats one of those photons in a different way as the others. A second reason is that the crystall used may have symmetries. If a crystal with a threefold rotational symmetry is turned by 120 degrees, the physical situation does not change. Therefore the generation rate of higher harmonics cannot change as well and the mathematical description of the generation by the tensor must reflect this. A deeper analysis of the impact of crystall symmetries on the tensor governing the generation of higher harmonics may be found in my masters thesis. It also contains routines to compute the dependencies of the entries of the tensors for an arbitrary spacial symmertry of the crystal using Mathematica 3.0 (for dipole and quadrupole radiation).

The advantage of n-th harmonics is that they may resolve a (n+1)-fold symmetry due to the use of an (n+1)-dimensional tensor. A threefold rotational symmetry, as can be found, e.g., on Si(111) surfaces, can be only be distinguished by second or higher harmonics.

Higher harmonics, e.g. fourth harmonics, may have a small penetration depth in the crystal to be analyzed. In such a case the obtained signal is generated mostly on the surface. If the symmetry of the surface changes, e.g. due to melting or due to the growth of a different layer of material in a growth chamber, the angular dependence of the signal may change dramatically. This may lead to an optical method to monitor the change of the surface of the crystall.

Further Information

www.r-kempf.de ( de | en )
Impressum

Nichtlineare Optik


Während meiner Zeit als Physikstudent in Austin, Texas, USA hatte ich Gelegenheit, Versuche an einem Lasersystem im Labor von Prof. Downer durchzuführen. In den Experimenten wurde durch nichtlineare Wechselwirkungen von Licht mit Materie die Oberfläche von Kristallen untersucht. Im nachfolgenden möchte ich die Grundideen für die durchgeführten Experimente allgemeinverständlich darstellen. Eine fundiertere Behandlung und Literaturstellen finden Sie in meiner Master Arbeit und dem Artikel.

Einführung: Erzeugung von höheren Harmonischen

Die Reflexion von Licht an glänzenden Oberflächen ist in der Regel linear, d.h. der Zusammenhang zwischen der Lichtstärke des einfallenden Lichts und der des reflektierten Lichts ist linear. Dabei nimmt normalerweise ein Elektron ein Photon (=Lichtteilchen) auf und gibt es kurz darauf in einer bestimmten Richtung wieder ab.

Bei hohen Lichtstärken kommt es vereinzelt vor, dass ein Elektron neben dem ersten Photon noch ein zweites Photon aufnimmt, bevor es das erste wieder weggeschickt hat. Statt die Photonen wieder einzeln wegzuschicken, packt das Elektron die Energie der beiden aufgenommenen Photonen in ein einziges neues Photon zusammen, das anschließend weggeschickt wird. Die doppelt so hohe Energie des neuen Photons äußert sich in der Verdopplung der Frequenz. Die so entstandenen Photonen werden als "zweite Harmonische" (engl. second harmonics) bezeichnet.

Die Erzeugungsrate dieser zweiten Harmonischen hängt nichtlinear von der einfallenden Lichtstärke ab: Bei einer Verdopplung der Beleuchtungsstärke verdoppelt sich erstens die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass ein bestimmtes Elektron ein Photon aufnimmt. Daher gibt es im Durchschnitt doppelt so viele Elektronen zu jedem Zeitpunkt, welche schon ein Photon absorbiert haben. Zweitens verdoppelt sich auch die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass ein solches Elektron ein weiteres Photon aufnimmt und somit zweite Harmonische produzieren kann. Die Erzeugungsrate hängt also näherungsweise quadratisch und damit nichtlinear von der einfallenden Lichtstärke ab.

Es kommt sogar vor, dass das Elektron nicht nur zwei sondern drei, vier oder mehr Photonen aufnimmt, bevor es ein Photon mit der aufgenommenen Gesamtenergie abgibt. Die so entstandenen Photonen nennt man dritte, vierte und höhere Harmonische. Die Erzeugunsrate für diese Photonen nehmen in erster Näherung mit der dritten, vierten bzw. höheren Potenzen der einfallenden Lichtstärke zu.

Theoretisch muss man nur eine geeignet hohe Lichtstärke wählen, um höhere Harmonische zu erzeugen. Praktisch stößt man dabei auf ein fundamentales Problem: Das Licht erhitzt den Kristall und er fängt bei zu hohen Lichtstärken an zu schmelzen und das Material ist nicht mehr kristallin.

Dieses Problem kann man durch einen Trick umgehen. Statt einem kontinuierlichen Lichtstrahl nutzt man einen gepulsten Laserstrahl, mit dem man bei gleicher mittleren Leistung sehr hohe Pulsleistungen und damit kurzzeitig sehr hohe Lichtstärken erzeugen kann, ohne den Kristall zu überhitzen. Aufgrund der sehr hohen Lichtstärken erhält man erhöhte Erzeugungsraten für höhere Harmonische. Bei konstanter einfallender Lichtleistung hängt die Erzeugungsrate für die n-ten Harmonischen näherungsweise mit Eins durch der (n-1)-ten Potenz der Pulsdauer ab.

Der bei den Versuchen eingesetzte, gepulste Laser lieferte 250000 Mal pro Sekunde einen Lichtblitz, der je 200 fs, also 0.0000000000002 Sekunden, lang dauerte. Im "Lichtstrahl" sind diese Pulse 1.2 km voneinander entfernt und nur je 0.06 mm lang. Die Pulsdauer wurde im Vergleich zu einem kontinuierlichen Lichtstrahl um den Faktor 200 fs * 250000 Hz=0.00000005 verringert. Damit erhöhte sich die Erzeugungsrate von z.B. den vierten Harmonischen um unvorstellbare 1/(0.00000005)^3=8*10^21. Erst dadurch wurde es möglich, ein messbares Signal von vierten Harmonischen zu erzeugen ohne die Kristalloberfläche zu beschädigen.

Anwendung: Oberflächenanalyse mit höheren Harmonischen

Interessanterweise hängt die Erzeugung von höheren Harmonischen nicht nur von der einfallenden Lichtstärke, sondern auch von der Verteilung der Elektronen auf der Kristalloberfläche und im Kristall ab. Um dies zu verstehen muss man erst ein paar weitere Details über Photonen kennen.

Jedes Photon hat eine bestimmte Schwingungsrichtung. Die Schwingungsrichtung eines erzeugten Photons mit der vierfachen Frequenz entspricht der Schwingungsrichtung des beteiligten Elektrons. Diese wiederum wird durch die Schwingungsrichtungen der vier einfallenden Photonen und der Kristallstruktur, in die das Elektron eingebettet ist, bestimmt.

Mathematisch kann man diesen Zusammenhang durch einen Tensor fünfter Stufe beschreiben. Er stellt so etwas wie eine fünfdimensionale Matrix dar, die die vier Polarisationsvektoren der einfallenden Photonen mit der Polarisationsrichtung des Elektrons in Beziehung setzt. Dieser Tensor hat 243(=3^5) Einträge. Viele Einträge davon sind Null oder hängen voneinander ab. Ein Grund liegt darin, dass sich die einfallenden Photonen nicht voneinander unterscheiden und es physikalisch damit keinen Sinn macht, dass der Tensor die dazugehörigen vier Polarisationsrichtungen unterscheidet. Ein weiterer Grund liegt in der Symmetrie der betrachteten Kristalle. Dreht man z.B. einen Kristall mit dreifacher Drehsymmetrie um 120 Grad, so liegt die gleiche physikalische Ausgangssituation vor. Die Erzeugungsrate für höhere Harmonische darf sich dann auch nicht ändern, was der Tensor sicherstellen muss. Eine ausführliche Darstellung der Symmetrieuntersuchungen findet sich in meiner Master Arbeit. Die Arbeit enthält im Anhang auch Mathematica 3.0 Programme, mit denen sich die gegenseitigen Anhängigkeiten der Tensoren für Dipolstrahlung und Quadropolstrahlung für beliebige Symmetrieklassen berechnen lassen.

Der Vorteil der n-fachen Harmonischen ist nun, dass sie eine (n+1)-fache Drehsymmetrie aufgrund ihrer (n+1)-dimensionalen Tensoren auflösen können. Eine dreifache Drehsymmetrie, wie sie z.B. bei Si(111) Oberflächen auftritt, wird also erst durch zweite oder höhere Harmonische sichtbar.

Höhere Harmonische, z.B. vierte Harmonische, haben in dem untersuchten Siliziumkristall nur eine geringe Eindringtiefe. Das bedeutet, dass das erhaltene Signal zum großen Teil an der Oberfläche erzeugt wird. Ändert sich nun die Symmetrie der Oberfläche, z.B. wenn das Material schmilzt oder in einer Wachstumskammer eine neue Oberflächenschicht aufgedampft wird, so ändert sich auch die Abhängigkeit des Signals der höheren Harmonischen vom Drehwinkel, unter dem es betrachtet wird. Somit sollte es möglich sein, Veränderungen der Oberfläche eines Kristalls durch diese Methode zu vermessen.

Unterlagen