www.r-kempf.de ( de | en )
Impressum

Fuzzy Systems


During my time as a research assistant in the Laboratory for Control Theory and Robotics at the Technische Universität Darmstadt, I developed a theory for recurrent fuzzy systems. But what are fuzzy systems and especially recurrent fuzzy systems? A vague answer to this question is provided below. Some more information can be found in the two short popular scientific articles "Rekurrente Fuzzy-Systeme" and "Modellierung ökologischer Systeme mit rekurrenten Fuzzy-Systemen" (in German). For a deep and broad discussion of recurrent fuzzy systems refer to my German Ph.D. thesis and the English journal articles, which are listed in the Publications section.

What are Fuzzy Systems?

In the classical logic, as it is used as a fundamental basis of mathematics, there are only two categories: "true" or "false". There is no "in between". In every days life however, this hard discrimination in these categories are often not respected or are even not appropriate. The transitions between "true" and "false" are often blurred and fuzzy. E.g., if you want to describe at which temperatures the tab water for a bath is pleasant, you would not heartily affirm this for 24 degrees centigrade and, at the same time, downright negate it for a temperature of 23.9 degrees centigrade. While 26 degrees centigrade are certainly pleasant and 18 degrees centigrade are unpleasant, there is a gradual transition between these two ratings.

Logic may be described by numbers. Normally, true statement are assigned a truth value of one and false statements are assigned a truth value of zero. When using fuzzy logic, the fuzzy transitions between true and false statements are described by functions that may not only take on the (truth) values of one oder zero, but all values in between.

The big advantage in assigning truth values to statements is to be able to systematically derive the truth values of relations and conclusions containing those statements without referring to the nature of the statement themselves. E.g., if the two statements "The water temperature is pleasant" and "If the water temperature is pleasant, I can stay long in the bathtub" are both true (i.e. have a truth value of one), one may derive the the conclusion "I can stay long in the bathtub" is also true (i.e. has also a truth value of one). There is an analogous mechanism for the fuzzy logic as well. A mathematical description for determining the truth values of conclusions from the truth values of the premises of rules are called fuzzy systems. E.g., if I rate the water temperature only as partially pleasant (i.e. with a truth value of 0.8), as the temperature is already a little low, I may regard the conclusion of the rule above also as only partially true; well, I won't stay in the tub that long.

This shallow example of the tub water temperature is there to give a vague feeling for the mechanisms of fuzzy systems. The property of fuzzy logic and fuzzy systems to handle fuzzy terms, such as "pleasant", "long", "many", "fast", etc., enables us to mathematically evaluate vague rules containing such fuzzy terms. With such a mathematically description of rules, it is possible to use the knowledge contained in such rules also in technical devices. E.g., for automatic quality assurance, control of machines, diagnosis of faults in machines or evaluation of data series.

What are Recurrent Fuzzy Systems?

The fuzzy systems sketched above are normally restricted to rules that describe a static relationship between the objects in the premise and those in the conclusion. However, rules may also describe the change of the value of an object. E.g., the change in the water temperature may be described by rules such as the following: "If the tub water is to cold and I add hot water, then the tub water will be pleasant." This change in the value of the water temperature is not static, but dynamic, as the premise of the relevant rule changes with the evaluation of the rule. Some time later, the appropriate rule may be: "If the tub water is pleasant and I add hot water, then the tub water will be too hot." This additional temporal component changes the (static) fuzzy system to a (dynamic) recurrent fuzzy system. The attribute "recurrent" points to the fact that rules are recurrently evaluated with new emerging values for the premises.

There is a general question that needs to be answered when using fuzzy systems: Does the mathematical model represent the linguistical knowledge adequately? If this is not the case the rules have normally to be changed slightly. In the case of recurrent fuzzy systems, not only a single evaluation of the rules has to match the linguistic interpretation of the rules, but the whole temporal evolution of the system has to. In order to be able to test this matching of a liguistical model and its recurrent fuzzy system, the dependencies of the rules and the temporal evaluation of the system has to be investigated. The first steps in this direction can be found in my Ph.D.thesis (ref. Publications).

Applications for Recurrent Fuzzy Systems

Recurrent fuzzy systems may not only be investigated rigorously as a nice mathematical modelling technique and be used to develop a theory for their temporal behaviour. No, recurrent fuzzy systems may also be used as a problem solver in various ways. With the help of some students, I set up a recurrent fuzzy system to model the behaviour of car drivers on a motorway. The accuracy of the model, who's rules were set up entirely subjective, is astounding. The following movie (1.6 MB) gives an idea of the model behaviour. It shows car drivers following mathematically interpreted linguistical rules to take over a breakdown car, which is symbolised by a fivepointed star. The different driver characters are depicted by different symbols and the speed is decoded by the colour of the symbols:

Snapshot of the traffic simulation

Recurrent fuzzy systems are also used in industry: As a fault diagnosis system in continuous casting plants. They evaluate measured data series. From the shape of the signal it derives a danger level for the occurrence of a certain error. The danger level on the other hand influences the interpretation of the measured data. Thus the danger level does not only occur in the consequence but also in the premises of the rules and its new value is recurrently reused to evaluate the signal. By this means, the measured signal is investigated for a specific series of features that is characteristic for the occurrence of a dangerous fault in the machine.

www.r-kempf.de ( de | en )
Impressum

Fuzzy-Systeme


In meiner Zeit als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt habe ich am Fachgebiet Regelungstheorie und Robotik eine Theorie rekurrenter Fuzzy-Systeme entwickelt. Aber was sind überhaupt Fuzzy-Systeme und im Speziellen rekurrente Fuzzy-Systeme? Eine rudimentäre Antwort gibt der folgende Text. Einen etwas detaillierteren Zugang bieten die beiden populärwissenschaftlichen Artikel "Rekurrente Fuzzy-Systeme" und "Modellierung ökologischer Systeme mit rekurrenten Fuzzy-Systemen", während fundierte und ausführliche Darstellungen der Sachverhalte in den Fachzeitschriften bzw. in meiner Doktorarbeit zu finden sind.

Was sind Fuzzy-Systeme?

In der klassischen Logik, der unverzichtbaren Basis der Mathematik, denkt man nur in den Kategorien "wahr" oder "falsch". Zwischenstufen gibt es nicht. Diese harten Grenzen sind im Alltag allerdings nicht einzuhalten bzw. nicht immer erwünscht. Oft sind die Übergänge zwischen wahren und falschen Aussagen im Alltag fließend und unscharf (engl.: fuzzy). Will man zum Beispiel überprüfen, ob die Wassertemperatur für ein Bad angenehm ist, so macht es wenig Sinn, dies für eine Temperatur von 24 Grad Celsius zu bejahen und für 23.9 Grad zu verneinen. Sicherlich sind 26 Grad angenehm und 18 Grad unangenehm, aber dazwischen gibt es einen fließenden Übergang.

Die Logik lässt sich durch Zahlen darstellen. In der Regel werden wahren Aussagen ein "Wahrheitswert" von Eins und falschen Aussagen ein Wahrheitswert von Null zugewiesen. Die unscharfen Übergänge zwischen wahren und falschen Aussagen werden in der Fuzzy-Logik durch Funktionen beschrieben, die nicht nur die Werte Null und Eins, sondern auch alle Zwischenwerte annehmen können.

Der große Vorteil der Belegungen von Aussagen mit Zahlenwerten für ihren Wahrheitsgrad ist, dass Verknüpfungen und Schlussfolgerungen aus diesen Aussagen rein formal auf deren Wahrheitsgehalt hin überprüft werden können. Sind beispielsweise die Aussagen "Die Wassertemperatur ist angenehm" und die Regel "Wenn die Wassertemperatur angenehm ist, dann halte ich es lange in der Badewanne aus." beide wahr (mit Wahrheitswert: Eins), so kann man schließen, dass die Aussage "Ich halte es lange in der Badewanne aus" auch wahr ist (mit Wahrheitswert Eins). Einen entsprechenden Mechanismus gibt es auch für die Fuzzy-Logik. Die mathematische Beschreibung dieser Übertragung von Wahrheitswerten von den Voraussetzungen von Regeln auf die Schlussfolgerungen von Regeln nennt man ein Fuzzy-System. Bewerte ich beispielsweise die Wassertemperatur nur zu einem gewissen Teil als wahr (mit Wahrheitswert 0.8), weil zum Beispiel die Temperatur schon ein wenig zu kühl ist, so kann ich die Schlussfolgerung auch nur zu diesem Wahrheitsgehalt als wahr einstufen; denn so richtig lange halte ich es dann eben doch nicht in der Wanne aus.

Dieses etwas hemdsärmelige Beispiel des Bades soll nur ein Gefühl für die Wirkungsweise von Fuzzy-Systemen vermitteln. Die Fähigkeit der Fuzzy-Logik und der Fuzzy-Systeme, mit unscharfen Begriffen wie "angenehm", "lange", "viele", "schnell", etc. umzugehen, erlaubt also eine Mathematisierung von sprachlich formulierten Regeln, die Zusammenhänge grob beschreiben. Mit der mathematischen Formulierung gelingt es nun, dieses Wissen in technischen Geräten umzusetzen; sei es zur automatisierten Qualitätssicherung, Steuerung von Maschinen, Diagnose von Fehlerquellen oder zur Auswertung von Datenreihen, usw.

Was sind rekurrente Fuzzy-Systeme?

Die oben skizzierten Fuzzy-Systeme beschränken sich im Normalfall auf Regeln, die einen statischen Zusammenhang zwischen den Voraussetzungen und Schlussfolgerungen beschreiben. Man kann sich allerdings auch vorstellen, dass die Regeln eine Änderung einer Größe beschreiben. Beispielsweise beschreibt die Regel "Wenn das Badewasser zu kalt ist und ich heißes Wasser dazugebe, dann wird das Badewasser angenehm" eine Veränderung in der Wassertemperatur. Diese Änderung ist allerdings nicht statisch, sondern dynamisch, denn die Voraussetzung der Regel ändert sich mit der Auswertung der Regel. Einige Zeit später würde so zum Beispiel die Regel "Wenn das Badewasser angenehm ist und ich heißes Wasser dazugebe, dann wird das Badewasser zu heiß" Anwendung finden. Die neu eingeführte zeitliche Komponente macht aus dem (statischen) Fuzzy-System ein (dynamisches) rekurrentes Fuzzy-System. Das Attribut "rekurrent" (d.h. wiederholend) weist darauf hin, dass die Regeln wiederholt ausgewertet werden und zwar jeweils mit den sich neu ergebenden Werten.

Die Frage beim Einsatz von Fuzzy-Systemen ist generell, ob diese das sprachlich formulierte Wissen auch adäquat mathematisch umsetzen. Wenn nicht, so sind üblicherweise die Regeln leicht zu modifizieren. Bei rekurrenten Fuzzy-Systemen muss nicht nur die einmalige Auswertung der Regeln hinreichend genau passen, sondern auch die gesamte zeitliche Entwicklung der sprachlich formulierten Vorstellung folgen. Die Herausforderung bei der Untersuchung rekurrenter Fuzzy-Systeme ist also, den Zusammenhang zwischen den Regeln und der zeitlichen Entwicklung der sich verändernden Werte aufzudecken. Die ersten Schritte dazu habe ich in meiner Doktorarbeit (siehe Veröffentlichungen) gemacht.

Anwendungen rekurrenter Fuzzy-Systeme

Rekurrente Fuzzy-Systeme kann man nicht nur als hübschen mathematischen Modellansatz rigoros untersuchen und Theorien über sein Verhalten aufstellen. Nein, rekurrente Fuzzy-Systeme lassen sich auch in vielfältiger Weise zur Problemlösung einsetzen. In meiner Arbeit habe ich zum Beispiel ein Modell für das Verhalten von Autofahrern auf Autobahnen in Zusammenarbeit mit Studenten entwickelt. Die Genauigkeit des Modells, welches auf rein subjektiv aufgestellten Regeln beruht, ist verblüffend. Einen Einblick liefert der folgende Film (1.6 MB). Darin ist zu sehen, wie sich Autofahrer an einem sternförmig markierten Hindernis vorbeiquälen. Die verschiedenen Fahrertypen sind durch verschiedene Zeichen dargestellt und ihre Geschwindigkeit ist farblich codiert:

Momentaufnahme der Verkehrssimulation

Industriell werden rekurrente Fuzzy-Systeme zur Fehlerdiagnose in Stranggießanlagen eingesetzt. Dabei bewerten sie ein Messsignal. Aus dem Signalverlauf wird durch das rekurrente Fuzzy-System ein Gefahrengrad für das Auftreten eines Fehlers bestimmt. Der Gefahrengrad wiederum beeinflusst die Auswertung des Messsignals. Er taucht also sowohl in der Voraussetzung als auch in der Schlussfolgerung der Regeln auf und der neue Wert wird immer wieder zur Bewertung des Messsignals herangezogen. So gelingt es, das Messsignal auf eine bestimmte Folge von Merkmalen zu untersuchen, die für eine Gefahrenquelle charakteristisch ist.